The museum is home to the Crosby boats. The Crosbys are America's oldest currently-active wooden boatbuilding family. Tour the 1855 Herbert F. Crosby boat shop, a 1930s Wianno Senior, and more.
Step back in time to Osterville's oldest house--the 1720 Cammett House, surrounded by a Colonial-era herb garden. The 1820 Captain Jonathan Parker House features art, antiques, and the families of Osterville.
A series of interconnected boat shops hosts the largest collection of wooden boats--both large and small--in Massachusetts.
Gardens are maintained by the Osterville Garden Club.
We are dedicated to preserving the history of the village of Osterville. Located near the charming seaside, the Museum complex sits on lovely grounds which are highlighted by an 18th century herbal garden and a 19th century ornamental garden.
The Museum's permanent collection includes period decorative arts, furniture, ceramics, and a dozen full-sized wooden boats.
The two-acre campus sits on a quiet street--a perfect spot to enjoy a picnic lunch or a cup of coffee with free WiFi on a sunny day.
Today, Osterville is home to people of many histories and many lifestyles, and the village has been enriched by their heritages. Their stories are being preserved by the Osterville Historical Society, which was founded in 1931 by Dr. Fritz B. Talbot, a Boston pediatrician and a summer resident of the Wianno section.
Five other residents were charter members, J. Milton Leonard, Genieve Leonard, Margerie Leonard, Sarah Boult, and Minnie Alien. J. Milton Leonard was elected its first president. Since 1961, thanks to the generosity of Gladys Brooks Thayer of New York and Oyster Harbors, the society has been based in the stately Capt. Jonathan Parker House, which was built in 1824.